LaPorte County Soil and Water Conservation District

2857 W. St Rd. 2, Suite B
LaPorte, IN 46350
Phone: 219-326-6808 Ext. 2116
Fax: 219-369-0599

Office Hours are from 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM, Monday - Friday

Office Staff

Sheila Batchelor, Office Manager (Ext. 2116)
Nicole Messacar, Education Coordinator (Ext. 2115)
Ethel Turkowski, Office Assistant (Ext. 2118)

  • MS4 Coordinator
    Rick Brown
    219-326-6808 Ext. 2114
  • Bord of Supervisors
    Don Lode, Chairman
    Anton Ekovich, Vice Chair
    Nate Mrozinski, Secretary
    Myrna Harder, Treasurer
    Gene Schmidt, Member
  • USDA Service Center Partners
    Theresa Wojkovich
    District Conservationist, NRCS
    219-362-6633 Ext. 3
    100 Legacy Plaza West
    LaPorte, In 46350

Mission Statement

We provide leadership, education, and technical assistance to empower LaPorte County residents to conserve and improve our soil, water and related natural resources.

Who We Are

Statutory Authority- Indiana Code IC 14-32-5-1 (District Law). A district constitutes a governmental subdivision of the state and a public body exercising public powers.


To provide information about soil, water, and related natural resource conservation; identify and prioritize local soil and water resource concerns. and connect land users to sources of educational, technical and financial assistance to implement conservation practices and technologies.

Who We Serve

The residents and/or land users of LaPorte County and others who come to the District with natural resource concerns.


Because of the need for the education and awareness of wise use and proper management of natural resources.