LaPorte County Circuit Court

Thomas J. Alevizos, Judge
813 Lincolnway, Suite 303
LaPorte, IN 46350
Phone (LP): 219-326-6808
Phone (MC): 219-874-5611 Ext. 2495
Fax: 219-324-0147

Office hours are from 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM, Monday - Friday

The county level court system is at the very heart of all judicial functions in Indiana. All county level courts are part of the network of the state court system. The Governor has the authority to fill all elected court vacancies.

The Circuit Courts in Indiana are courts of original jurisdiction. They are presided over by judges who serve for a term of six years. Circuit Court judges, like judges of all state courts, must be admitted to the practice of law.


In 1975, the legislature replaced the existing minor courts (the justice of the peace courts, and most city and town courts) with a combination system in which approximately one-third (1/3) of the counties were assigned a circuit court. Today, all but four counties have their own circuit court.

The court system is a vital part of the system of local governance. However, the function and structure of the court system is much too broad and complex to handle sufficiently here. There are, however, two county elected offices that exercise a wide range of judicial functions that are included. They are the Prosecuting Attorney and the Clerk of the Circuit Court.